My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+

Request to View in Reading Room

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Author Wyschnegradsky, Ivan, 1893-1979, composer.

Title Ainsi parlait Zarathoustra : symphonie en quarts de ton: pour quatre pianos accouplés/ Ivan Wyschnegradsky.

Published [1936-1938]


Uniform title Ainsi parlait Zarathoustra, pianos (4), op. 17
Physical description 1 manuscript score (85 pages) + 8 manuscript parts ; 37 cm
Notes Holographs.
Originally written for piano, harmonium, clarinet, strings and percussion; rewritten in 1936 for four pianos.
The 1st and 3rd pianos must be tuned at concert pitch, with the 2nd and 4th tuned a quarter tone higher.
Inkstamp (last page of score): "Société des Auteurs, Compositeurs et Éditeurs de Musique, 1 Mar. 1937 ..."
Note pinned to Piano I part, on Éditions de L'Oiseau-Lyre letterhead: "Original scores handwritten specially for l'Oiseau lyre in 1938 by the composer himself."
Typescript "Notice" by the composer inserted.
Published (facsimile of holograph) in 1938 as O.L. 117.
From the archive of Editions de l’Oiseau-Lyre.
Language notes Staff notation.
Local note Photocopies of the "Notice" also included. A program for a Radio France concert on 21 January 1978 is inserted.
Other author University of Melbourne. Editions de l’Oiseau-Lyre Archive.
Subject Wyschnegradsky, Ivan, 1893-1979 -- Manuscripts.
Symphonies (Pianos (4)) -- Scores.
Microtonal music.
Local author Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, Former owner.
Local series Editions de l’Oiseau-Lyre Archive. Music for performance and publication