My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

     
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
 
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Book Cover
E-RESOURCE

Title Channelopathies in heart disease / Dierk Thomas, Carol Ann Remme, editors.

Published Cham, Switzerland : Springer, 2018.

Copies

Location Call No. Status
 UniM INTERNET resource    AVAILABLE
Physical description 1 online resource : illustrations (some color)
Series Cardiac and vascular biology
Cardiac and vascular biology.
Springer Biomedical and Life Sciences eBooks 2018 English+International
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Part A: (Dys)function of cardiac ion channels 2. The electrophysiological basis of cardiac conduction and repolarization (include also: Distribution of ion channels in the heart (atrium vs ventricle, conduction system versus working myocardium, Purkinje, transmural distribution)) Jules Hancox (University of Bristol, UK; Jules.Hancox@bristol.ac.uk) 3. Novel insights into ion channel complexity and diversity: relevance for cardiac channelopathies (interacting proteins, subcellular distribution, non-electrogenic effects, electro-mechanical overlap, impact on other organs, etc). Hugues Abriel (Bern, CH) 4. Cardiac sodium channel structure and (dys)function C.A. Remme (Amsterdam, NL) 5. Potassium channels in the heart: structure and (dys)function Nicole Schmitt (Copenhagen, Denmark; nschmitt@sund.ku.dk) 6. Calcium channels and their roles in cardiac electrophysiology Niels Voigt (Göttingen; Germany; niels-voigt@t-online.de) 7.
HCN channels and cardiac pacemaking Mirko Baruscotti (Department of Biomolecular Sciences and Biotechnology, University of Milan, Italy; mirko.baruscotti@unimi.it) 8. (Dys)regulation of ionic homeostasis: relevance for cardiac arrhythmias (including ryanodine receptor channelopathies, etc) Luigi Venetucci (Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, University of Manchester, UK; luigi.venetucci@manchester.ac.uk) Part B: Cardiac channelopathies: clinical and genetic findings 9. Long QT syndrome (including Timothy syndrome), short QT syndrome Lia Crotti (Department of Molecular Medicine, University of Pavia, Pavia, Italy; liacrotti@yahoo.it) 10. Brugada syndrome Koonlawee Nademanee (The Pacific Rim Electrophysiology Research Institute, Los Angeles, USA; wee@pacificrimep.com) 11. Sinus node disease and Lev-Lenègre syndrome-progressive cardiac conduction disease Patrick Schweizer (Heidelberg, Germany; patrick.schweizer@med.uni-heidelberg.de) 12.
Catecholaminergic polymorphic ventricular tachycardia Bjorn C. Knollmann (Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Nashville, USA; bjorn.knollmann@vanderbilt.edu) 13. Idiopathic ventricular fibrillation and early repolarization Pieter Postema (Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; p.g.postema@amc.uva.nl) 14. Atrial fibrillation Dierk Thomas (Heidelberg, Germany) 15. Pulmonary arterial hypertension Horst Olschewski (Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Lung Vascular Research, Medical University of Graz, Austria; horst.olschewski@medunigraz.at) 16. Genetic testing for inheritable cardiac channelopathies Julien Barc (l'institut du thorax, Nantes, France; julien.barc@inserm.fr) Part C: Research into cardiac channelopathies: new avenues 17. Novel imaging techniques in cardiac ion channel research Eli Rothenberg (Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, New York, USA; Eli.Rothenberg@nyumc.org) 18.
IPSC-CM: towards personalized therapeutic strategies? Alessandra Moretti (Technical University of Munich, Germany; amoretti@mytum.de) 19. Computational modeling in cardiac channelopathy research Blanca Rodriguez (Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK; blanca.rodriguez@cs.ox.ac.uk) 20. Identification of disease modifiers in cardiac channelopathies Elisabeth Lodder/Connie Bezzina (Academic Medical Center, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; e.m.lodder@amc.uva.nl) 21. Transgenic animal models of cardiac channelopathies - benefits and limitations Katja Odening (Universitäts-Herzzentrum Freiburg, Germany; katja.odening@uniklinik-freiburg.de).
Summary This book provides an expert overview on ion channel-related arrhythmia mechanisms, and describes important advances in our understanding of how ion channel dysfunction causes cardiac disease. Both, scientific findings and clinical implications are presented and discussed by scientists who have considerably contributed to the field. The book is organized in three parts: part I treats the molecular and electrophysiological mechanisms of function and dysfunction of ion channels, part II focuses on genetics and clinical findings, whereas part III describes novel research techniques, the use of stem cells and animal models and provides an outlook on future investigations and applications. The book is written for scientists in Cardiovascular Biology and Neuroscience and will be of general interest to Medical Doctors in Cardiology, Cardiac Electrophysiology and related disciplines. .
Other author Thomas, Dierk, editor.
Remme, Carol Ann, editor.
SpringerLink issuing body.
Subject Ion channels.
Pathology, Molecular.
Electronic books.
ISBN 9783319778129 (electronic bk.)
3319778129 (electronic bk.)
9783319778112
3319778110
9783319778136 (print)
3319778137
Standard Number 10.1007/978-3-319-77812-9