My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

For faster,
Use Lean
Get it now
Don't show me again
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Cover Art

Title Masterworks of Latin American short fiction : eight novellas / edited by Cass Canfield, Jr. ; introduction by Ilan Stavans.

Published New York : Icon Editions, [1996]


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Bail  863 MAST    DUE 08-01-20
Edition 1st ed.
Physical description xxii, 385 pages ; 25 cm
Contents Introduction / Ilan Stavans -- The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Erendira and Her Heartless Grandmother / Gabriel Garcia Marquez -- Miss Florence's Trunk / Ana Lydia Vega -- I Heard Her Sing / G. Cabrera Infante -- The Snow of the Admiral / Alvaro Mutis -- The Road to Santiago / Alejo Carpentier -- The Pursuer / Julio Cortazar -- My Uncle, the Jaguar / Joao Guimaraes Rosa -- The Daisy Dolls / Felisberto Hernandez.
Summary This unique anthology of eight Latin American novellas by major modern writers demonstrates the richness and variety of Latin American literature with selections of sufficient length for a real appreciation of each writer, unlike most anthologies where the selections are short. The writers included are: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Ana Lydia Vega, G. Cabrera Infante, Alvaro Mutis, Alejo Carpentier, Julio Cortazar, Joao Guimaraes Rosa, and Felisberto Hernandez. An introduction to the novella in Latin American literature by Ilan Stavans and biographical summaries of the authors are included.
Language notes Translated from Spanish or Portugese.
Other author Canfield, Cass, Jr.
Subject Latin American fiction -- 20th century -- Translations into English.
Standard Number 780064315029
ISBN 0064315029