My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

For faster,
Use Lean
Get it now
Don't show me again
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Cover Art
Author Saloman, Ora Frishberg Author.

Title Listening Well On Beethoven, Berlioz, and Other Music Criticism in Paris, Boston, and New York, 1764-1890 Ora Frishberg Saloman [electronic resource]

Published New York Peter Lang Inc., International Academic Publishers 200901


Location Call No. Status
Edition 1st, New ed.
Physical description 269 p.
Summary The twelve essays in Listening Well illuminate aesthetic, educative, and evaluative strategies utilized by writers in Paris, Boston, and New York to guide listeners in confronting the challenges of musical modernity between 1764 and 1890. They interpret criticism from treatises, journals, and newspapers for its importance in cultural history and consider the reception of major works by Beethoven and by Berlioz. The essays explore contrasting responses to new operas and symphonies by composers, librettists, authors, critics, and conductors as well as by writers including Chabanon, Lacépède, Berlioz, Urhan, D’Ortigue, Dwight, Fuller, Watson, and Hassard. Readers interested in perceptions of Classicism and Romanticism in music as they relate to French, German, and American literature and criticism will discover how audiences on both sides of the Atlantic were encouraged to listen attentively to the new and controversial in music of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
«‘Listening Well’ is a rich collection of linked essays on the challenges and rewards of such great musical works as Beethoven’s ‘Ninth Symphony’. Ora Frishberg Saloman’s book brings up a host of crucial issues including how instrumental music differs from verbal expression and how music functions in opera. ‘Listening Well’ reminds us of a time – two times, actually: France, 1760-1850, and America, 1840-1890 – when public intellectuals took music seriously.» (Ralph P. Locke, Professor of Musicology, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, and Author of ‘Music, Musicians, and the Saint-Simonians’ and ‘Musical Exoticism: Images and Reflections’) «‘Listening Well’ brings together a lifetime body of scholarly insight on topics that deal with musical aesthetics and reception history ranging from Paris to Boston and New York, and from Beethoven to Berlioz. Ora Frishberg Saloman’s essays are an important contribution to our understanding of musical life in the nineteenth century in France and America, and, even more, teach us how our musical culture was formed on both continents.» (David B. Levy, Professor of Music, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and Author of ‘Beethoven: The Ninth Symphony’)
History notes The Author: Ora Frishberg Saloman received her Ph.D. in historical musicology from Columbia University. She is currently Professor of Music at Baruch College and Graduate Center of the City University of New York. She is the author of Beethoven’s Symphonies and J. S. Dwight: The Birth of American Music Criticism written with the support of a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship. Dr. Saloman has also contributed essays to European Music and Musicians in New York City, 1840-1900, Festschrift Walter Wiora, and Music and the French Revolution; her articles have been widely published in national and international journals of music.
ISBN 9781453903797
Standard Number 9781453903797