My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

For faster,
Use Lean
Get it now
Don't show me again
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Cover Art
Author Minturn, Neil.

Title The music of Sergei Prokofiev / Neil Minturn.

Published New Haven : Yale University Press, [1997]


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank  780.92 PROK/ MINT    AVAILABLE
Physical description xiii, 241 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Series Composers of the twentieth century.
Composers of the twentieth century.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 213-233) and index.
Summary This important book is the first comprehensive analytical study of the music of Sergei Prokofiev. Neil Minturn sets the prolific Russian composer's work in historical, cultural, and autobiographical context and examines a generous and representative sampling of his compositions from a theoretical point of view.
Minturn finds a central theme of Prokofiev's oeuvre to be the interplay between tradition and innovation. He discusses the composer's diverse compositional procedures (tonal versus "modern" devices), as well as the political and cultural influences on Prokofiev's works. Minturn shows how the content and structure of individual pieces and movements took shape, how Prokofiev developed the notion of five musical lines, and how the idea of the "wrong note" in his music plays out. A surprisingly consistent harmonic and rhythmic sense permeates Prokofiev's evolving style, as measured by relatively "harmonic" or "contrapuntal" emphasis. Minturn analyzes works for piano, orchestra, various chamber ensembles, and voice (including the opera The Gambler) and considers works in each category from various periods in Prokofiev's career.
Subject Prokofiev, Sergey, 1891-1953 -- Criticism and interpretation.
ISBN 0300063660 (cloth : alk. paper)