My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Cover Art
Author Williams, Peter, 1937 May 14-2016.

Title The organ music of J.S. Bach / Peter Williams.

Published New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank  786.5092 BACH/ WILL    AVAILABLE
Edition 2nd ed.
Physical description x, 624 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm
Notes Revision of v. 1-2 of the ed. published in 3 v., 1980-1984.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 591-607) and indexes.
Contents BWV 131a fugue in G minor -- BWV 525-530 six sonatas -- Preludes and fugues (praeludia) BWV 531-552 -- Eight short preludes and fugues BWV 553-560 -- Miscellaneous pieces BWV 561-591 -- Concertos BWV 592-596 -- BWV 597 and 598 -- Orgelbuchlein BWV 599-644 -- Schubler chorales BWV 645-650 -- Chorales formerly called 'The Eighteen' BWV 651-668 -- Chorales from Clavierubung III BWV 669-689 -- Chorales formerly called 'The Kirnberger collection' BWV 690-713 -- Miscellaneous chorales BWV 714-765 -- Chorale variations (partitas) BWV 766-771 -- BWV 790 -- Four duets from Clavierubung III BWV 802-805 -- BWV 943, BWV 957, BWV 1027a and 1039a, BWV 1029.iii, BWV1079.ii, BWV 1085 -- Chorales now called The Neumeister collection BWV 1090-1120 -- Further works, in part of uncertain origin.
Summary This is a completely revised edition of volumes I and II of The Organ Music of J. S. Bach (1980), a bestselling title, which has subsequently become a classic text. This new edition takes account of the Bach scholarship of the last twenty-five years. Peter Williams's piece-by-piece commentary puts the musical sources of the organ works in context, describing the form and content of each work and relating them to other music, German and non-German. He summarises the questions about the history, authenticity, chronology, function and performance of each piece, and points out important details of style and musical quality. The study follows the order of the Bach catalogue (BWV), beginning with the sonatas, then the 'free works', followed by chorales and ending with the doubtful works, including the 'newly discovered chorales' of 1985.
Subject Bach, Johann Sebastian, 1685-1750. Organ music.
Organ music -- Analysis, appreciation.
ISBN 0521814162
0521891159 (paperback)