My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Record 6 of 23
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Cover Art

Title Benjamin Britten : new perspectives on his life and work / edited by Lucy Walker.

Published Woodbridge : Boydell Press, 2009.


Location Call No. Status
Physical description xiii, 191 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations.
polychrome rdacc
Series Aldeburgh studies in music ; v. 8.
Aldeburgh studies in music ; v. 8.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Going behind Britten's back / Colin Matthews -- Performing early Britten: Signs of promise and achievement in Poèmes nos. 4 and 5 (1927) / Sharon Choa -- Shostakovich's Fourteenth symphony: A response to War requiem? / Cameron Pyke -- Six metamorphoses after Ovid and the influence of classical mythology on Benjamin Britten / George Caird -- Britten and the cinematic frame / David Crilly -- Storms, laughter and madness: Verdian 'Numbers' and generic allusions in Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes / Jane Brandon -- Dramatic invention in Myfanwy Piper's libretto for Owen Wingrave / Frances Spalding -- 'The minstrel boy to the war is gone' : Father figures and fighting sons in Britten's Owen Wingrave / Arne Muus -- Made you look! Children in Salome and Death in Venice / J.P.E. Harper-Scott -- From 'The Borough' to Fraser Island / Claire Seymour -- Britten and France, or the late emergence of a remarkable lyric universe / Maéna Py -- Why did Benjamin Britten return to wartime England? / Brian McMahon.
Reproduction Electronic reproduction. Ann Arbor, MI : ProQuest, 2015. Available via World Wide Web. Access may be limited to ProQuest affiliated libraries.
Other author Walker, Lucy (Lucy S.)
ProQuest (Firm)
Subject Britten, Benjamin, 1913-1976 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Electronic books.
ISBN 9781843835165 hardback
1843835169 hardback
9781846156946 e-book