My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Record 50 of 309
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Book Cover
Author Eisler, Hanns, 1898-1962.

Title Composing for the films / Theodor Adorno & Hanns Eisler ; with a new introduction by Graham McCann.

Published London ; Atlantic Highlands, NJ : Athlone Press, 1994.


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank High Use/Overnight  781.542 ADOR  3HR OR O/NIGHT  AVAILABLE
Physical description liii, 171 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
Notes Originally published under Eisler's name alone: New York : Oxford University Press, 1947.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents New Introduction / Graham McCann -- 1. Prejudices and Bad Habits -- 2. Function and Dramaturgy -- 3. The New Musical Resources -- 4. Sociological Aspects -- 5. Elements of Aesthetics -- 6. The Composer and the Movie-Making Process -- 7. Suggestions and Conclusions -- Appendix: Report on the Film Music Project -- Appendix: Fourteen Ways to Describe Rain.
Summary This classic account of the nature of film music aesthetics was first published in 1947. Its value comes from a unique combination of talents and experience enjoyed by the book's authors. Eisler's time at Hollywood gave him a particular insight on the technical questions which arise for composers when music is used in the production of films; while Adorno was able to contribute on wide aesthetic and sociological matters as well as specifically musical questions. Above all, the authors envisaged the book as a contribution to the study of modern, industrialised culture; and, in this respect, it has a particular importance to the whole area of Cultural Studies.
Other author Adorno, Theodor W., 1903-1969.
Subject Composition (Music)
Motion picture music -- Instruction and study.
Musical accompaniment.
ISBN 0485121077 (pb) $29.95
0485114542 (hb) $65.00