My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks


Title Analytical essays on music by women composers : concert music 1960-2000 / edited by Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft.

Published New York, NY Oxford University Press, 2016.


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank  780.9252 ANAL    DUE 12-09-19
Physical description viii, 244 pages : music ; 25 cm.
Series Analytical essays on music by women composers ; v. 3
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 225-236) and index.
Contents Order, freedom and design. Ursula Mamlok, Panta rhei, third movement (1981) biography ; "Twelve tone in my own way" : an analytical study of Ursula Mamlok's Panta rhei, third movement, with some reflections on twelve-tone music in America / Joseph N. Straus ; Norma Beecroft, Improvvisazioni concertanti no. 1 (1961) biography ; Improvvisazioni concertanti no. 1 by Norma Beecroft : serialism, improvisatory discourse, and the musical avant-garde / Christoph Neidhöfer ; Joan Tower, Silver ladders (1986) biography ; "Octatonicism," the octatonic scale, and large-scale structure in Joan Tower's Silver ladders / Jonathan W. Bernard -- Gesture, identity and culture. Sofia Gubaidulina, String quartet no. 2 (1987) biography ; "Difference inhabits repetition" : Sofia Gubaidulina's string quartet no. 2 / Judy Lochhead ; Chen Yi, Symphony no. 2 (1993) biography ; The transformative power of musical gestures : cultural translation in Chen Yi's Symphony no. 2 / Nancy Rao -- Music, words and voices. Kaija Saariaho, "The claw of the magnolia," from the Grammar of dreams (1988) biography ; Superposition in Kaija Saariaho's "The claw of the magnolia" / John Roeder ; Libby Larsen, Chanting towards paradise (1997) biography ; Music as a mirror : Libby Larsen's Chanting towards paradise / Brenda Ravenscroft ; Elisabeth Lutyens, Essence of our happinesses (1968) biography ; This imaginary halfe-nothing : temporality in Elisabeth Lutyens's Essence of our happinesses / Laurel Parsons.
Other author Parsons, Laurel, editor.
Ravenscroft, Brenda, 1961-, editor.
Subject Gubaidulina, Sofia, 1931-. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello. no. 2.
Mamlok, Ursula. Panta rhei.
Beecroft, Norma. Improvvisazioni concertanti. no. 1.
Tower, Joan, 1938-. Silver ladders.
Chen, Yi, 1953-. Symphonies. no. 2.
Saariaho, Kaija. Grammaire des rêves.
Larsen, Libby. Chanting to paradise.
Lutyens, Elisabeth, 1906-1983. Essence of our happinesses.
Gubaidulina, Sofia, 1931-. Quartets. no. 2, violins (2), viola, cello.
Variant Title Concert music, 1960-2000
ISBN 9780190236861