My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Author Gann, Kyle, author.

Title Charles Ives's Concord : essays after a sonata / Kyle Gann.

Published Urbana : University of Illinois Press, [2017]


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank  786.2183 IVES/GANN    AVAILABLE
Physical description xiii, 438 pages : illustrations, music ; 25 cm.
Series Music in American life
Music in American life.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 397-430) and index.
Summary In 1921, insurance executive Charles Ives sent out copies of a piano sonata to two hundred strangers. Laden with dissonant chords, complex rhythm, and a seemingly chaotic structure, the so-called Concord Sonata confounded the recipients, as did the accompanying book, Essays before a Sonata . Kyle Gann merges exhaustive research with his own experience as a composer to reveal the Concord Sonata and the essays in full. Diffracting the twinned works into their essential aspects, Gann lays out the historical context that produced Ives's masterpiece and illuminates the arguments Ives himself explored in the Essays . Gann also provides a movement-by-movement analysis of the work's harmonic structure and compositional technique; connects the sonata to Ives works that share parts of its material; and compares the 1921 version of the Concord with its 1947 revision to reveal important aspects of Ives's creative process. A tour de force of critical, theoretical, and historical thought, Charles Ives's Concord provides nothing less than the first comprehensive consideration of a work at the heart of twentieth century American music.
Subject Ives, Charles, 1874-1954. Sonatas, no. 2, piano.
Ives, Charles, 1874-1954. Essays before a sonata.
Ives, Charles, 1874-1954 -- Criticism and interpretation.
ISBN 9780252040856 (hardcover ; alkaline paper)
0252040856 (hardcover ; alkaline paper)
9780252099366 (electronic book)