My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

For faster,
simpler
access.
Use Lean
Library.
Get it now
Don't show me again
     
Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page   1 2 Next  
Save Marked Record Save All Records Save Marked to My Lists
SUBJECTS (1-50 of 83)
Popular culture -- Japan.
1
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2006

Baburu bunkaron : "posuto sengo" to shite no sen-kyūhyaku-hachijū-nendai / Hara Hiroyuki.

    バブル文化論 : Hara, Hiroyuki, 1969-
Tōkyō : Keiō Gijuku Daigaku Shuppankai,    Shohan.    268 p. : ill., charts, photographs ; 20 cm. 2006
2
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2010

Babylon East : performing dancehall, roots reggae, and Rastafari in Japan / Marvin D. Sterling.

    Sterling, Marvin D., 1969-
Durham, NC : Duke University Press,        xiv, 299 pages; 23 cm 2010
3
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2010

Babylon East : performing dancehall, roots reggae, and Rastafari in Japan / Marvin D. Sterling.

    Sterling, Marvin D., 1969-
Durham, NC : Duke University Press,        1 online resource (xiv, 299 pages) : illustrations 2010
4
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1984

Behind the mask : on sexual demons, sacred mothers, transvestites, gangsters, drifters, and other Japanese cultural heroes / Ian Buruma.

    Buruma, Ian, author.
New York : Pantheon Books,    First American edition.    xiii, 242 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 22 cm 1984
5
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2001

Births and rebirths in Japanese art : essays celebrating the inauguration of the Sainsbury Institute for the Study of Japanese Arts and Cultures / edited by Nicole Coolidge Rousmaniere.

   
Leiden : Hotei Pub.,        215 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some colour) ; 26 cm. 2001
6
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2018

Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture : Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom / Lu Chen.

    Chen, Lu, author.
London : Taylor and Francis,        1 online resource (194 pages) 2018
7
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2012

Coffee life in Japan / [electronic resource] / Merry White.

    White, Merry I., 1941-
Berkeley : University of California Press,        1 online resource (xi, 222 p.) : ill. c2012
8
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2012

Coffee life in Japan / [electronic resource] / Merry White.

    White, Merry I., 1941-
Berkeley : University of California Press,        1 online resource (xi, 222 p.) : ill. c2012
9
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2012

Coffee life in Japan / [electronic resource] / Merry White.

    White, Merry I., 1941-
Berkeley : University of California Press,        xi, 222 p. : ill. c2012
10
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2012

Coffee life in Japan / Merry White.

    White, Merry I., 1941- author.
Berkeley : University of California Press,        1 online resource (222 pages) : illustrations. 2012
11
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1996

Contemporary Japan and popular culture / edited by John Whittier Treat.

   
Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press,        viii, 317 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm 1996
12
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2011

The cool-kawaii : Afro-Japanese aesthetics and new world modernity / Thorsten Botz-Bornstein.

    Botz-Bornstein, Thorsten.
Lanham, Md. : Lexington Books,        xxviii, 209 pages ; 24 cm 2011
13
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2011

The cool-kawaii Afro-Japanese aesthetics and new world modernity / [electronic resource] : Thorsten Botz-Bornstein.

    Botz-Bornstein, Thorsten.
Lanham, Md. : Lexington Books,        xxviii, 209 p. c2011
14
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1987

A cultural history of postwar Japan, 1945-1980 / Shunsuke Tsurumi.

    Tsurumi, Shunsuke, 1922-2015.
London ; New York : KPI ; New York : Distributed by Methuen,        xi, 174 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm. 1987
15
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2011

A cultural history of postwar Japan, 1945-1980 / [electronic resource] / Shunsuke Tsurumi.

    Tsurumi, Shunsuke, 1922-
London : Routledge,        x, 138 p. : ill. 2011
16
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2001

Dōbutsuka suru posutomodan : otaku kara mita Nihon shakai / Azuma Hiroki.

    動物化するポストモダン : Azuma, Hiroki, 1971-
Tōkyō : Kōdansha,        193 p. : ill. ; 18 cm. 2001
17
 
    DVD/VIDEO/FILM 1994

Dream girls.

   
[London] : A Twentieth Century Vixen Production for [the] BBC,        1 videocassette (VHS) (49 minutes) : sound, colour ; 1/2 in. 1994
18
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1997

The Encyclopedia of Japanese pop culture / by Mark Schilling.

    Schilling, Mark, 1949-
New York : Weatherhill,    1st ed.    343 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm 1997
19
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2017

The end of cool Japan : ethical, legal, and cultural challenges to Japanese popular culture / edited by Mark McLelland.

   
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, N.Y. : Routledge,        1 online resource (iv, 184 pages) : illustrations, text file, PDF. 2017
20
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2012

Fandom unbound : otaku culture in a connected world / edited by Mizuko Ito, Daisuke Okabe, Izumi Tsuji.

   
New Haven [Conn.] : Yale University Press,        xxxi, 320 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm 2012
21
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2012

Fandom unbound otaku culture in a connected world / [electronic resource] : edited by Mizuko Ito, Daisuke Okabe, Izumi Tsuji.

   
New Haven : Yale University Press,        xxxi, 320 p. : ill. c2012
22
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2012

Fandom unbound : otaku culture in a connected world / edited by Mizuko Ito, Daisuke Okabe, Izumi Tsuji.

   
New Haven : Yale University Press,        1 online resource (xxxi, 320 pages) : illustrations 2012
23
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1998

Furinji karuchā : Shūhenteki otaku bunka no tanjō to tenkai / Udagawa Takeo.

    フリンジ。カルチャー :
Tōkyō : Suiseisha,        225 pages ; 22 cm. 1998
24
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2007

Gurōbarizēshon to bunka henʼyō : ongaku, fasshon, rōdō kara miru sekai / Endō Kaoru hen.

    グローバリゼーションと文化変容 :
Kyōto-shi : Sekai Shisōsha,        iv, 249 p. : ill. ; 19 cm. 2007
25
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1989

Handbook of Japanese popular culture / edited by Richard Gid Powers and Hidetoshi Katō ; associate editor, Bruce Stronach.

   
New York : Greenwood Press,        xviii, 350 pages ; 25 cm 1989
26
Cover Art
    DVD/VIDEO/FILM 1998?

Hell bento!! uncovering the Japanese underground / [videorecording] : written and conceived by Adam and Anna Broinowski ; producer/director, Anna Broinowski.

   
[s.l.] : Tetrapod ; Woolloomooloo, NSW, : Wild Releasing [distributor],        1 videocassette (VHS) (60 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. 1998?
28
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1990

Japan as it is : a bilingual guide.

   
Tokyo : Gakken,    2nd ed., rev.    368 pages : illustrations, map ; 19 cm 1990
29
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1996

Japan behind the lines / Ben Hills ; photography by Mayu Kanamori.

    Hills, Ben.
Sydney : Hodder Headline,        xi, 429 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm 1996
30
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2000

Japan pop! : inside the world of Japanese popular culture / Timothy J. Craig, editor.

   
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe,        ix, 348 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm 2000
31
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2007

Japanamerica : how Japanese pop culture has invaded the U.S. / Roland Kelts.

    Kelts, Roland.
New York ; Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan,        xi, 238 pages, 4 unnumbered leaves of plates 2007
32
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1991

Japanese cultural encounters & how to handle them / Hiroko C. Kataoka with Tetsuya Kusumoto.

    Kataoka, Hiroko C., 1951-
Lincolnwood, Ill., USA : Passport Books,        viii, 119 pages ; 23 cm 1991
33
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2003

Japanese cybercultures / edited by Nanette Gottlieb and Mark McLelland.

   
London ; New York : Routledge,        xv, 252 pages ; 25 cm. 2003
34
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2003

Japanese cybercultures / edited by Nanette Gottlieb and Mark McLelland ; with a preface by David Gauntlett.

   
London ; New York : Routledge,        xv, 252 pages. 2003
35
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1984

A Japanese mirror : heroes and villains of Japanese culture / Ian Buruma.

    Buruma, Ian.
London : Cape,        xiii, 242 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, portraits ; 23cm 1984
36
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1985

A Japanese mirror : heroes and villains of Japanese culture / Ian Buruma.

    2860 306.1 Bur2860 306.1 Bur Buruma, Ian.
Harmondsworth : Penguin,        xiii, 242 p., [16] p. of plates : ill., ports. ; 20 cm. 1985
37
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2010

Japanese popular culture and globalization / William M. Tsutsui.

    Tsutsui, William M.
Ann Arbor, Mich. : Association for Asian Studies,        85 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm. 2010
38
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1973

Japanese popular culture; studies in mass communication and cultural change made at the Institute of Science of Thought, Japan. / Edited and translated by Hidetoshi Kato.

    Shisō no Kagaku Kenkyūkai.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press,        223 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm 1973
39
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2008

Japanese popular music : culture, authenticity, and power / Carolyn S. Stevens.

    Stevens, Carolyn S., 1963-
London ; New York : Routledge,        xii, 184 pages ; 24 cm. 2008
40
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE 2008

Japanese popular music : culture, authenticity, and power / Carolyn S. Stevens.

    Stevens, Carolyn S., 1963-
London ; New York : Routledge,        xii, 184 pages : illustrations. 2008
41
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1993

The Japanese : strange but not strangers / Joe Joseph.

    Joseph, Joe.
London : Viking,        xi, 275 pages ; 25cm 1993
42
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1988

The Japanese trajectory : modernization and beyond / edited by Gavan McCormack and Yoshio Sugimoto.

   
Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press,        viii, 300 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm 1988
43
 
    PRINTED BOOKS 1968

Kinsei no shomin bunka / Takao Kazuhiko cho.

    近世の庶民文化 Takao, Kazuhiko, 1924-
Tōkyō : Iwanami Shoten,        vi, 328, 5 p. : ill. ; 19 cm. 1968
44
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1998

Kurenai no metarusūtsu : anime to iu senjō / hosha Ueno Toshiya.

    紅 の メタルスーツ : Ueno, Toshiya, 1962-
Tōkyō : Kinokuniya Shoten,        203 p. : ill. ; 20 cm. 1998
45
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2015

Kūru Japan!? : gaikokujin ga mita Nippon / Kōkami Shōji.

    クール。ジャパン!? : Kōkami, Shōji.
Tōkyō : Kōdansha,        236 pages ; 18 cm. 2015
46
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 2014

Kūru Japan wa naze kirawareru no ka : "nekkyō" to "reishō" o koete / Mihara Ryōtarō.

    クール。ジャパンはなぜ嫌われるのか : Mihara, Ryōtarō, 1978-
Tōkyō : Chūō Kōron Shinsha,        261 pages : illustrations ; 18 cm. 2014
47
Cover Art
    PRINTED BOOKS 1989

Language and popular culture in Japan / Brian Moeran.

    Moeran, Brian, 1944-
Manchester ; New York : Manchester University Press ; New York : Distributed exclusively in the U.S.A. and Canada by St. Martin's Press,        ix. 196 pages ; 23 cm. 1989
48
Cover Art
University of Melbourne Author    PRINTED BOOKS 2018

Law and justice in Japanese popular culture : from crime fighting robots to duelling pocket monsters / edited by Ashley Pearson, Thomas Giddens and Kieran Tranter.

   
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group,        xii, 276 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm 2018
50
Cover Art
    E-RESOURCE c2008

Limits of the human / [electronic resource] / Frenchy Lunning, editor.

   
Minneapolis, Minn. : Univ of Minnesota Press,        xvi, 287 p. : ill. c2008
Save Marked Record Save All Records
Locate in results
 
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Result Page   1 2 Next