My Library

University LibraryCatalogue

Limit search to items available for borrowing or consultation
Result Page: Previous Next
Can't find that book? Try BONUS+
Look for full text

Search Discovery

Search CARM Centre Catalogue

Search Trove

Add record to RefWorks

Author Haas, Michael, 1954- author.

Title Forbidden music : the Jewish composers banned by the Nazis / Michael Haas.

Published New Haven, Conn. ; London : Yale University Press, 2013.
New Haven : Yale University Press, [2013]


Location Call No. Status
 UniM Southbank  780.9430904 HAAS    AVAILABLE
Physical description xii, 358 pages ; 24 cm.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Machine generated contents note: 1.German and Jewish -- 2.Wagner and German Jewish Composers in the Nineteenth Century -- 3.An Age of Liberalism, Brahms and the Chronicler Hanslick -- 4.Mahler and His Chronicler Korngold -- 5.The Jugendstil School of Schoenberg, Schrecker, Zemlinsky and Weigl -- 6.A Musical Migration -- 7.Hey! We're Alive! -- 8.A Question of Musical Potency: The Anti-Romantics -- 9.The Resolute Romantics -- 10.Between Hell and Purgatory -- 11.Exile and Worse -- 12.Restitution.
Subject National socialism and music.
Music and antisemitism -- Germany -- History.
Music and antisemitism -- Austria -- History.
Music -- Social aspects -- Germany -- History.
Music -- Social aspects -- Austria -- History.
Jewish musicians -- Germany -- History.
Jewish musicians -- Austria -- History.
Music by Jewish composers -- Germany -- History and criticism.
Music by Jewish composers -- Austria -- History and criticism.
Censorship -- History.
Music -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Music -- Germany -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
Music, Jewish -- History and criticism.
Composers -- Germany.
Jewish composers -- Germany -- History -- 20th century.
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
World War, 1939-1945 -- Music and the war.
Jews -- Germany -- Music.
ISBN 9780300154306 (hbk.) : £25.00